Christians and the Confederate Flag

I don’t like to stir things up. I tend to stick topics that are nonpolitical and not controversial on social media. I may occasionally share an article that I find interesting or comment on something someone else has posted, but I try not to bring up controversial things or pick fights. However, there’s something that’s been bothering me a lot lately. I don’t get the reaction that many people on my Facebook feed that claim Christ are having to the Confederate Flag’s removal from S.C and various shops and media sources. That brings me to my main point. This is really for believers only. If you don’t subscribe to the Bible as an authority then feel free skip this. I know that a lot of people that are upset about the flag’s removal do claim Christ. I know many of you personally. I’m your friend. I love you. However, if a flag is causing other people real hurt should it continue to be displayed? I personally don’t like what the flag stands for or has stood for, but it doesn’t hurt me to see someone else wearing it. I find it annoying at most. There are people however that have strong reactions to it because they have been the victim of racism, and it is seen as a symbol of racism. You may not be displaying it for that reason, but one can not divorce a symbol from a common cultural meaning. 1 Cor. 10:23-24 say “All things are lawful for me, but all things are not expedient: all things are lawful for me, but all things edify not.Let no man seek his own, but every man another’s wealth.” We as believers have the right to do a lot of things, but we are called to curtail that “right” if it hurts brother or sister in Christ. Romans 14 has a lot of good applications for this situation, but the one verse that I want to quote is verse 19, “Let us therefore make every effort to do what leads to peace and to mutual edification.” Can anyone really say that showing a Confederate flag leads to peace or mutual edification outside of some educational context such as museums and textbooks? Let’s be what Christians are meant to be. Let’s show love, bring peace, and lift up one another. Christ emptied himself becoming like a man and giving up the glory of heaven so that he could die for those that sinned against him, does it hurt believers to give up their personal right to show a symbol in order to edify another Christian or be a better witness. If what we are showing, isn’t a sign of love we shouldn’t be showing it. You’re welcome to disagree with me. Free dialogue is an American right and very healthy. I’m not going to debate the history of the Confederate flag. I don’t deny that you have and should continue to have the legal right to display it. I’m just asking if it’s display and defense is something that a Christian should engage in. I think the answer is no. What about you?

Leave a Reply

