One Meal Two Ways: Pork Roast Addition – Bonus Peach Cobbler Recipe

1 Meal 2 Ways: Pork Roast Addition One thing I love to do that saves both time and money is stretch meals by making the main dish then changing it up a few nights in a row. This is a great way to get my family to eat leftovers that will otherwise die a slow death in the fridge. It reduces the time I spend planning and cooking, and since it reuses meat which is normally the most expensive part of the meal it saves money. The easiest things to do this with are roast meats. I’m going to do a series on taking a main dish and refabing it into another meal or meals. The first is pork roast. Some series will involve turning the meals into other things using proper recipes while others will give ideas for dressing up leftovers. I’m a traditional sort of girl, and I like my roast with carrots, potatoes and onions. Doing it this way gives me an immediate side dish that doesn’t require much else in the way of work. The meal is also very filling, and it meets the demands of my hard working husband’s stomach after a long day outside. Meal One Pork Roast This is easy as can be! I use my crockpot. The picture was taken shortly after I put it in, so this is not what it looks like finished. I wanted an after picture,but my family had it out and carved up before I got a chance to take one! Ingredients 1 Pork roast 5ish Large Carrots peeled and chopped into finger sized pieces 7ish Medium redskin potatoes quartered 2 small onions quartered 2 tablespoons of garlic salt 1 table spoon of onion powder A dash of Italian seasoning ( I really just throw on whatever I’m in the mood for. I had some fresh sage in the garden and tossed some of that in there last time along with some fresh oregano and thyme.) Toss all of this into your crockpot and put a few cups of water in with it. I put mine on high for six hours, and it was perfect. While this can be a stand alone dish, the produce at the farmers market this week was so good that I added several things. I served this with green beans, corn on the cob, coleslaw, sliced tomatoes and cucumbers, cornbread muffins, and peach cobbler. I’ve given my recipe for green beans here before since I cheated and used jiffy cornbread mix I won’t give a recipe for that. My mom brought the coleslaw and it was wonderful, but I’ll have to ask her permission to share the recipe. It’s one of her signature dishes.The corn, tomatoes, and cucumbers don’t require any cooking skills, but the peach cobbler is to die for. Perfect Peach Cobbler I found the base for this here http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/trisha-yearwood/easy-peach-cobbler-recipe.html However, I did some toying with some of the ingredients and the cooking time and temperature. The main thing I changed was that I use fresh peaches and no syrup. I’m trying to cut down on the sugar a little bit. I also skimped on the actual sugar. The original calls for a cup, and I did more like a cup minus 1/8th a cup. The original also called for it to be cooked at 350 for an hour. I had the oven heated to 400 for the corn bread muffins so I just left that bad boy hot and cooked the cobbler in 40 minutes. Ingredients 7ish Peaches 1 stick of butter softened 1 cup – 1/8 of sugar (You can use a whole cup if you want, but I’m going to try it minus a fourth next time.) 1 Cup of Self rising flour- You can also use all purpose flour plus 1 1/2 teaspoons of baking soda and a pinch of salt. 1 Cup of milk Step one- Preheat the oven to 400 Step two- Peel and slice peaches. You can either use a potato peeler which is what I prefer, or you can stick them in boiling water for about 30 seconds and then plunge them into an ice bath. The skins will then come right off. Either way once the skin is removed slice the peaches into bite sized pieces. I prefer mine on the large side. Set these aside for later. Step three- Mix your softened butter and sugar together until fluffy. Step four- Add milk and flour to the butter and sugar. Mix until smooth. Step five- Pour the batter into small baking dish around 8 inches or a deep standard pie dish. Then pour your peaches into the batter making sure that they’re spread evenly. Step six- Bake in a 400 degree oven for around 40 minutes. Meal Two- Leftover Dress up BBQ Sandwiches with Coleslaw and Fried Potatoes Take your left over pork roast and shred it. Top with your favorite BBQ sauce and heat on the stove until warm. Grab some nice hamburger or sandwich buns and top with the BBQ pork. I used my leftover coleslaw from the above meal as a sandwich topping for this one. You can also reuse the potatoes that were leftover from the roast. Just separated them from the carrots, toss on a bit more salt, and toss them in a  cast iron skillet with some canola oil. Cook them until they are crispy but not charred. I’m going to make a confession here. I have some pictures from the first meal, but not from the second. While I do typically dress leftovers up this way, I had a horrible migraine the day after I made the original meal. This meant that my wonderful husband had to handle all of the household things including dinner. He decided that reheating the leftovers as were would be fine. I was just happy to be to the point where I could sit up and eat while having some quiet conversation with my family. To be honest it really was just as good with a simple reheat. I was a bit disappointed that I didn’t get to do a leftover makeover as I had planned. This was coupled with the guilt I felt for not being able to help my husband around the house that day. The hardest part was that I wasn’t able to help him much with our son, and Harrison is only two so he couldn’t completely understand why I wasn’t able to spend much time with him. It’s when things don’t go as planned that we need to remember that the important part isn’t making fancy meals or delighting your family with something new every night. It’s making coming together for a family meal easier on everyone. Don’t be too hard on yourself when things don’t work out as you’d wished. I’ll leave off with a prayer of thanks. Dear Father thank you for this food we are about to eat. Please let it nourish our bodies. Bless the hands that prepared it and thank you for those we love that are gathered around this table. Help us remember those in need and reach out to them. In Jesus name we pray. Amen. What are your favorite recipes? How do you make use of leftovers? Does your family still say grace? If so is there a special one you would like to share?

3 thoughts on “One Meal Two Ways: Pork Roast Addition – Bonus Peach Cobbler Recipe

  1. You make me smile. I love cooking once and changing it up several times over the week. I have no kids, but I do appreciate the convenience! I hope your nasty migraine is well past.
    My favorite way to make pork roast is Green Chili Pork Roast. Very Mexican, and quite savory. If you find a recipe that guides you in making the green chile verde (not jarred or canned) and actually tells you to use Long Green Chiles (fresh or canned) go for it! And for the record, this sauced pork does not need any really hot stuff it it. The pork and the mild green tomatillo salsa carry all the flavor you need. Unless of course, you are a Chili Head. In that case fire away! 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

