Father’s Day

I know that Father’s day is a hard time for some people for a variety of reasons. Many men struggle with the pain of infertility or the loss of children through miscarriage. Some men deal with the loss of a child that they’ve held in their arms and fallen even more deeply in love with. Lots of people have lost their fathers. Then there are those that have no father to speak of or that suffer from family bonds so frayed that Father’s Day is a bitter reminder of how things “should” be. I’ll be praying for you all today. You are loved, and your circumstances are not a reflection of your value.

It took a long time for Andrew to become a dad. We struggled with infertility and loss for several years before we had Harrison. Even during all of that my husband, was a rock for me. I’m sure there were many times that he put his own suffering aside to hold me up. He’s a great father, and a wonderful godly man. Showing love and grace even in the midst of sever pain was proof enough of that. He would have been a great father to our two children that didn’t make it into this world if he had the chance. I know Father’s Day is bitter sweet for him, but I hope he feels blessed non the less.

I’m blessed in that I’ve been surrounded by great fathers. My own dad and I are very close, and my husband is a wonderful father to our son. I am thankful for my father-in-law’s contribution to our family as well. Most importantly, I also have a relationship with a heavenly Father that loves me. For me Father’s Day is a wonderful time to celebrate.

I’m so thankful that my dad worked hard to make my image of fatherhood a good one. I still remember going fishing with him, making candles with him, and always being able to ask him questions. He and I still talk every day. I know that he’s there even now if I ever need anything, and it means the world to me. I’ve enjoyed watching him as a grandfather too. He’s not naturally good with small children because he’s not quite sure what to do with them, but he loves my son. It’s so clear in the way he plays blocks with him, and talks about him. The love is mutual. I think Pops is one of my son’s favorite people. I hope that his legacy of faith and love continues to influence our family for many years to come.

dadandharrisonbabykiss

Dad set an excellent example of what a father and husband should be. I knew when I started dating how a lady should be treated, and that I didn’t have to take any crap from a man. He trusted me to make my own choices and encouraged my strong opinions even when they ran contrary to his own. I know that my poor mother felt like a referee a lot of the time, but all over our arguments ended up bringing us closer since we worked to understand and respect each other’s sides. He taught me how important education was and has always encouraged me to go as far as I can in everything that I do. All in all, I couldn’t ask for a better father.

374385_4042441780541_1388243637_n

My thankfulness extends to my husband as I watch him stretch his patience with our son. I know that being patient isn’t his natural gift, but he works so hard at it. He’s a wonderful co-parent, and splits the job with me 50/50. Just the other morning Harrison woke up early, and my husband read him book after book so that I could get some extra sleep. These small things are building great memories for our little guy. Andrew, my husband, works so hard to provide for our family, and he’s always putting someone else’s needs first. His work ethic doesn’t end at his job, but he comes home and does whatever needs doing around here too. This is not a house where the wife complains that the husband doesn’t do his share. He brings so much joy to our home, and Harrison thinks he’s a proper super hero. I have to agree. I love him dearly, and I’m so glad that Harrison is blessed to call him daddy.

IMAG0148
To all of the fathers, grandfathers, step-dads, and positive male role models out there, Happy Father’s Day!

What is your greatest memory with your dad?

2 thoughts on “Father’s Day

Leave a Reply

